Cover ups! That is truly nothing new in the DOE?

2016-06-03 12.31.06.jpghttp://nypost.com/2016/06/02/principal-accused-of-covering-up-alleged-locker-room-gang-rape/

It seems that the highly touted principal at Boys and Girls high school has taken a page from the Nixon administration. Together with his version of Ehrlichman and Haldeman they have covered up a sexual assault.

I wish I could say I was surprised that administrators had cover up an assault on a young woman in a school, but I’m not.

As a dean at Manhattan Center in 2007 to 2009, I had witnessed a male student physically assault his girlfriend on an almost daily basis. I personally suspended the student twice, but the principal David Jimenez refused to take further steps. Then in the spring of 2009 this male student walked into my classroom and attempted to physically remove his girlfriend from my room. I notified school safety who removed the male student. I notified the girl’s parents who pushed the issue with the principal. The student was suspended again. Two day after the incident, the student came into the dean’s office spun make chair around and made threatening gestures toward me. I called security. When security arrived the student went on a verbal tirade that includes racial and sexually insults toward school safety. The student was removed to the guidance office. While in the guidance office the student took a chair and broke a $6000 copy machine and told principal David Jimenez to “suck my dick.” It was at that point Jimenez requested a superintendent suspension. For nearly two years, the incidents between this male student and his girlfriend were swept under the rug.

In June of 2014, A female student had to get a restraining order against a male student for stalking her.

In 2008, Two female assistant principals were allegedly sexually harassed by Principal David Jimenez. Needless to say both incidents were swept under the rug.

https://mcsminmywords.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/manhattan-center-for-science-and-math-high-school-the-new-india/

The question is how many allegations do principals swept under the rug? As a dean I was always told to kept our suspension numbers low. It seems that disciplinary issues lowers the school’s environment grade on the report card.

With that being said, I wonder what is more important a grade on a piece of paper or a student that enters a school building.

 

Leave a Reply

