Harassment

Harassment

The above image is of two letters, one I sent to principal David Jimenez on September 10 2010 complaining of harassing behavior by Assistant principal Dan Albetta. The other is an email to the United Federation of Teachers in 2012 listing all the harassments complaints that I filed against Assistant Principal Dan Albetta. The letter below is the transcript of the above September 7 2010 incident.

To: David Jimenez
From John Silvers
Date September 10 2010
Re: Dan Albetta

This is a written complaint of harassment against AP Dan Albetta. At the History Department conference on September 7 2010, AP Alberta announced that I was doing Collaborative Team Teaching. As per the teacher’s contract, Collaborative team teaching positions shall be posted for both general education teachers and the special education teachers. Such posting shall be in such places as will provide a fair opportunity for qualified teachers to apply for the assignments.

I did not apply for the position nor did I have any conversation with AP Albetta about the position during anytime, but AP Albetta announced in front of the entire department that I was team teaching. This is a blatant violation of the teacher’s contract.

Prior to his announcement to our department , I was assigned a student teacher from Columbia’s Teacher’s College. Prior to the the beginning of the department meeting AP Albetta reassigned my student teacher to Ms.Muskat. when I asked why he reassigned the student teacher AP Albetta noted in a threatening tone ” BECAUSE I SAID SO.” When I asked Ms. Muskat what reason he have her for reassigning the student teacher she noted that ” YOUR SCHEDULE IS NOT CONDUCIVE FOR A STUDENT TEACHER.” My schedule consisted of four classes of American history and one class of constitutional law.

I FOUND AP ALBETTA’S BEHAVIOR TOWARDS ME TO BE THREATENING AND HARRSSING. WHEN I EXPESSED MY CONCERNS TO YOU ABOUT MY OBSERVATIONS THIS WAS THE REASONING FOR IT.
John Silvers

This complaint was filed prior to the wave of harassment that occurred from September 2010 to December 2012.

The letter shows Mr. Albetta’s true intention towards me. In my career I have worked with a number of student teachers from both Columbia University and New York University. I have received positive ratings from everyone of my student teachers and their supervisors. When Mr. Albetta removed my student teacher it was a personal issue. Mr. Albetta prior to October 2010 had never observed me in classroom environment. On September 7, 2010 I spoke with Mr. Jimenez and verbally requested that Mr. Albetta not observed me by himself. In the September 10, 2010 letter I reminded Mr. Jimenez of my concerns about my observations. Oddly enough in October 1 2010 Mr. Albetta observed me unannounced by himself and gave me a U rating for a class. The U rating write up was four pages long. Arbitrator Lisa Brogan noted that on November 1 2010 that ” Silvers engineered the comeback of a lifetime when he performed satisfactory for both Jimenez and Albetta.” Mr. Albetta’s goal was to have me U rated and removed from the school because of the compliant I filed about the way
he handled and then spoke negatively about the student he had arrested in April of 2010.

I am not the only teacher to be on the receiving end of this behavior by Mr. Albetta.
Click on the link below and read the story of another teacher.
http://decruztruth.wordpress.com/

On one of my U rated Observations Mr. Albetta questioned my questioning technique. So after you read these post answer the following questions.
How do three teachers and one former A.P all have similar stories of harassment?
How are teachers with extraordinary scores on the regents exams are U- rated by inferior supervisors?
Why does Mr. Jimenez refuses to response to any complaint filed against Mr. Albetta?

I hope Mr. Albetta thinks that my questioning technique has improved. Yeah Right

3 thoughts on “Harassment

  1. Looks like this guy really had a personal vendetta against you. Totally unprofessional. It’s one thing to have professional differences but to go on a personal mission to destroy a good teacher’s lively-hood is just beyond unprofessional. It’s downright disgusting. People like this SHOULD not be SUPERVISING ANYONE, plain and simple.

    Plus why is he the only person who has ever U-rated you? Doesn’t that blatantly show his agenda? I mean, is he like some super-expert genius teacher?

    Oh wait, he was a gym teacher who taught adaptive PE with low class sizes.

    I guess that qualifies him as the BEST POSSIBLE INSTRUCTIONAL LEADER FOR SOCIAL STUDIES!!!

    Give me a break.

    That’s like letting a dog walk a human.

  2. Pingback: Fredo | voltaire280's Blog

  3. Pingback: Ebenzer Jimenez | voltaire280's Blog

Leave a Reply

